Author Topic: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.  (Read 9178 times)

Jeremy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« on: May 11, 2015, 01:20:03 AM »
So I timed it, it was exact 3 hours, 180 minutes, and my sessions 'timedout'. I'm sorry but I use TV almost 24h a day, if I have to relogg every 3 hours, in one day, that's too much. Please explain how I bypass this, I Googled it and found ZERO other people with this problem? How the fuck is this possible that nobody ever came here to ask the same question?

Reply within 24 hours please, otherwise I will need to switch to LogMeIn or an other remote program, there are plenty fish in the sea.

Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 450
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2015, 03:38:48 PM »
Sorry you are having an issue.
Remember this is a user created and supported forum, a demand of "Reply in 24 hours" is pointless ...and frankly makes you appear like a spoiled child.
chalking it up to frustration perhaps.

 Is this problem new?  IE were you able to stay logged in 24/7 prior?
« Last Edit: May 12, 2015, 03:28:53 AM by Admin »

Jeremy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2015, 01:00:49 PM »
I'm sorry, I was indeed a bit frustrated the time I wrote this, I better waited a moment to write is down.

Anyways, no I only started using this recently, but I know it must be a bugg or something because nobody has the same problem (I Googled it, not a quick search). So I don't know what to do.

Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 450
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2015, 04:49:19 PM »
Since the issue doesn't seem to be widespread if at all...
Id start with opening a direct ticket and or posting the issue to the teamviewer Facebook page ( to which they often respond more quickly)
http://teamviewerforums.com/index.php?topic=1363.0

spiral

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2015, 11:03:32 AM »
I've been having the same issue for a while as well, however with different hardware.

I use teamviewer to run an Ubuntu machine headless and I connect to it with my Laptop/Desktop/android tablet. I've experienced the 3 hr timeout on both Laptop and Desktop (both Windows 7 64), for the tablet, I've never had teamviewer open long enough to run into it, but wouldn't surprise me if it happens there too.

There is a setting under advanced options that seems like it should affect this (called "Timing out inactive session" which ranges from Off to 8 hours) but changing the setting appears to have no effect. I've tried changing it on both ends of the connection with no luck.

It never happened in Teamviewer 9(?). I can't be sure if it's been this way for all of Teamviewer 10, or started somewhere midway through.

I never found a solution, and sort of just resigned myself to deal with it. I definitely don't connect 24h/day, maybe 2-3 times a week at most. The most frustrating thing about it is when the session ends it pops up windows that take focus away from videos/media playing (this has always been frustrating, but at least previously it was me directly causing the popup, now it just shows up after I forget I had Teamviewer open). Was also surprised at the lack of anyone talking about this issue. I figured even searching just "teamviewer 3 hours" would have got some hits (though believe me I tried many other searches), since it being exactly 3 hours is sort of oddly specific.

My fear is that they added it in as an inconvenience to encourage buyers, but since they don't provide a non-business purchase option that ain't happening. I'd gladly pay $30 or something just to have all the popups (and now this timeout) gone.

Would love to hear if you get a response from your ticket.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2015, 11:07:01 AM by spiral »

Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 450
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2015, 12:32:19 PM »
i suggest that you submit a ticket as well...

spiral

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2015, 01:12:10 PM »
Well, that was quick:

Quote
Thank you for your message.

This is a known issue with the private use of TeamViewer. Our developers are aware of the issue and have been working on a resolution however I do not know when/if there will be a version which addresses this issue will be released.

If this 24/7 access is required I do know that the licensed version of TeamViewer has been able to retain the connection.

If you are interested, we do have a $39 per month subscription Business license available. If you are wanting a lifetime license, our Business license would be $749 but this is a lifetime license.

Please let me know if you are interested in the licensed version.

Danl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2015, 02:59:33 PM »
That kinda sucks, but for a free service, and a *wonderful* free service, I have a a hard time complaining a lot. If you're using it almost 24 hours a day, maybe you ought to be paying them something?

Walldoo99

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2015, 07:42:53 AM »
I've been having the same issue for a while as well, however with different hardware.

I use teamviewer to run an Ubuntu machine headless and I connect to it with my Laptop/Desktop/android tablet. I've experienced the 3 hr timeout on both Laptop and Desktop (both Windows 7 64), for the tablet, I've never had teamviewer open long enough to run into it, but wouldn't surprise me if it happens there too.

There is a setting under advanced options that seems like it should affect this (called "Timing out inactive session" which ranges from Off to 8 hours) but changing the setting appears to have no effect. I've tried changing it on both ends of the connection with no luck.

I'm pretty sure it is widespread and nobody else is reporting it because they assume it's just part of the update to 11.
3 hours seems to be the cut off point, idle or not


It never happened in Teamviewer 9(?). I can't be sure if it's been this way for all of Teamviewer 10, or started somewhere midway through.

I never found a solution, and sort of just resigned myself to deal with it. I definitely don't connect 24h/day, maybe 2-3 times a week at most. The most frustrating thing about it is when the session ends it pops up windows that take focus away from videos/media playing (this has always been frustrating, but at least previously it was me directly causing the popup, now it just shows up after I forget I had Teamviewer open). Was also surprised at the lack of anyone talking about this issue. I figured even searching just "teamviewer 3 hours" would have got some hits (though believe me I tried many other searches), since it being exactly 3 hours is sort of oddly specific.

My fear is that they added it in as an inconvenience to encourage buyers, but since they don't provide a non-business purchase option that ain't happening. I'd gladly pay $30 or something just to have all the popups (and now this timeout) gone.

Would love to hear if you get a response from your ticket.

Queste

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2016, 07:20:01 AM »
I have exactly the same, it has always been that way logging in from the outside. Recently it has started happening on my local LAN sessions also. 2 hours, 59 minutes and 59 seconds. Always. Can never leave a session open anymore. It's not an idle time-out. It just disconnects while I'm busy.
I connect with pc (laptop).

Vlad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Session timeout after exactly 3 hours, only on iPad.
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2016, 06:48:23 AM »
It's not only on iPad it's builtin regardless the hardware. I experience it on Windows connecting on Windows, be that LAN or Remote. For the person saying yeah you should buy it, I've tried, but I find the price far too high for a personal use. And I'm not sure if I won't be experiencing this issue even with a license.

 

anything