Author Topic: Cloned installation  (Read 5887 times)

CurlyBen

Cloned installation
« on: July 29, 2015, 08:06:45 PM »
Hi all,

Hope this hasn't been covered before - I couldn't see anything. I've been trying to set up a headless server with the added challenge of it being truly headless - all my monitors (other than on my laptop) are on another continent at the moment.

I'm a Linux newbie so the way I've done this was to install onto a USB stick on my laptop and set up networking etc. (and install Teamviewer), cloned that USB stick, then plugged both USB sticks into my new server box. I then used Teamviewer to login to the server, and cloned the USB stick that wasn't running the system to the internal SSD. So far so good. I then removed the USB sticks and booted from the SSD, and that's worked.

However, Teamviewer doesn't. Using SSH and 'teamviewer -info' everything looks OK and I have a Teamviewer ID (the same ID as the USB stick version), but if I try and access that ID I get "A connection could not be established. Either your partner isn't connected to the internet or your partner's TeamViewer isn't running yet. Please tell your partner to check his/her internet connection or to start Teamviewer". I know Teamviewer is running and the computer is connected to the internet! They're also on the same local network so the local connections issue shouldn't be a factor.

My best guess so far is that it's an issue caused by the cloned copy of Teamcenter having the same ID as the original on the USB stick (though it works happily enough from both USB sticks). Is that likely? If so, can it be changed? I did try uninstalling and reinstalling Teamviewer through SSH but got myself into such a mess I ended up recloning the drive!

Any ideas to stop me tearing my hair out? Thanks!

A couple more details: the server is an Intel NUC i5, 8gb RAM, 32gb mSATA SSD running Ubuntu Desktop 14.04 and Teamviewer 10
« Last Edit: July 29, 2015, 08:14:02 PM by CurlyBen »

matt

CurlyBen