Author Topic: connection, but no window - help!  (Read 10037 times)

Danl

connection, but no window - help!
« on: April 12, 2013, 09:06:46 AM »
I am boggled.

First of all, I've been using TeamViewer for several years. A real lifesaver. I have several machines, all of which connect to each other. BUT ...

I'm in a situation now where ONE MACHINE won't complete a connection to the others. That is, from that machine (let's call it "A", which is a new model iMac 10.6), I command a TeamViewer connection (to, let's say "B", which happens to be in the same room). It says "connecting to partner", the TeamViewer window closes (all normal), and then ... no window appears showing the screen on B. Nothing at all. It just sits there. I do it again, and TeamViewer on A claims there is already a connection with B. By the way, on B, the pane pops up telling me there is a connection with A. So B thinks that A is looking at it in TeamViewer.

Using machine A, I can't complete a connection with any of the machines (local or remote) that I've been able to connect with in the past. Just like with B.

OK, so I get on B, and command a connection to A. That works perfectly. The window pops up showing the screen on A. Huh?

Now, I tried rebooting A. Same problem. I uninstalled TV on A, and reinstalled TV8. Same problem.

Help! I've never seen this before.

Danl

Re: connection, but no window - help!
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2013, 11:03:06 AM »
Umm, and all of a sudden, a few hours later. It works. I was beating on this for an hour earlier. Ideas? Reliability-wise, this isn't encouraging. Something probably timed out, but it sure isn't clear what that might have been.

matt

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2013, 12:24:00 AM »
I think that the remote machine may have been 'asleep'. I get this quite a bit with Windows machines.

Danl

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2013, 05:17:57 AM »
I think that the remote machine may have been 'asleep'. I get this quite a bit with Windows machines.